Madison County SWCD is a legal subdivision of state government that is managed by a board of five elected commissioners. We work together with our partners (including the USDA-NRCS and IDALS) to address local natural resource concerns in our district.

The Commissioners

  • Mike Koch, Chairman (2019-2022)
  • Jason Hirsch, Vice Chair (2021-2024)
  • Tim Palmer, Treasurer (2021-2024)
  • Frederick Martens, Co-Treasurer (2019-2022)
  • Lisa Coverdale, Secretary (2021-2024)

Assistant Commissioners

  • Jim Gillespie
  • Ryan Marquardt


  • District Conservationist: Clay Rogers
  • Conservation Assistant: Anna Golightly
  • Soil Conservationist: Julia Gubbels
  • Soil Conservationist: Sheila Maurer
  • District Technician: Joe Moore
  • State Technician: Vacant
  • Part-Time (“780”) Technician: Rick Streeter
  • MEC Contract Support Specialist: Teresa King